The Lunar Chronicles and My Agony

So school has started and I’ve gotten ridiculously busy. Most people drop reading fun books for school but I would probably go insane without the comfort of stories to escape into so you can bet that I’ve been reading novels on my phone in my spare time instead of the textbooks I should be reading. During school I usually read on my phone because that’s the most accessible. It rocks when I have an hour in between class or am bored out of my mind during a conversation.

I mean, I’m sorry but this book is way more interesting than what you have to say to me right now is essentially my answer for everything.

The first thing I started reading upon coming back to school was Book One of The Lunar Chronicles: Cinder. This book has been on my list for a while and I finally decided it was time to pick it up and I didn’t put it down again until I finished the next two in the series. I was instantly hooked by the amazing idea of a steampunk version of fairytales, especially Cinderella (one of my all time favs). Marissa Meyer crafted an amazing alternative world for this unique telling of age old stories. I died a little inside -out of happiness, and sadness at my life- every time a romantic moment occurred in this volatile world.

And when I say volatile, I mean hanging on the edge of a chasm above a pit of despair and torture volatile.

I’m honestly not being dramatic. Cinder is the set up for an intertwining of Cinderella, Little Red, Rapunzel, and ~eventually~ Snow White (I’m guessing). It takes place in this futuristic world full of androids (shout out to Iko who’s the most human of them all), Lunars with gifts to manipulate the minds and choices of other beings through bio electricity, and a plague that threatens to demolish the human race. Throw in the tyranny of Luna and their evil Queen Levana, a long lost princess, and a marriage threatening to ruin the world and the life of a beloved prince and you’ve got the world of the Lunar Chronicles. Throughout Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress you see just how close the world is coming to war with Luna, the nation on the moon, and just how much stronger Luna is than Earth. The political ride and the journey the main character Cinder goes on to form her ragtag team of revolutionaries is one that gets you thinking and begging for more.

Not to mention the love that surrounds each of their stories. While I’m all for the stereotypical love stories that many YA books are, I LOVE it when the book/series is mainly about something bigger than the character simply finding love. The Lunar Chronicles is about the bravery of one group of people to face off against an all powerful tyrant to save the world, with love stories thrown in the mix. It’s not the main focus, which is amazing, and it makes me want so much more of it.

I love the relationship between Scarlet and Wolf. A lot. Like I couldn’t get enough of it and when they’re separated and Wolf is essentially lost without her is so touching to me. Scarlet never gives up on him even when he’s about to kill her and Wolf never lets her down (because I refuse to believe he won’t save her). They save each other multiple times. Then of course Cress and Thorne. She sees the good in him even though it was initially a childish fantasy made to keep her company in her imprisonment. But when they fall to the Earth together Thorne keeps her alive and makes her stronger than she thought she could be. Cress is helping him see the good in himself through the blindness and he’s beginning to realize he can rely on her. Watching their love tentatively grow makes my heart happy. Last but not least, Kai and Cinder’s relationship makes me cry inside but it was the biggest payoff when they finally made it and Kai helps Cinder realize the potential she has and that she’s not alone. It’s just amazing.

The whole series was not one I could put down. Each character’s story was one I wanted to follow immediately. Sometimes when you read a book that’s told from multiple perspectives you want to just skip through one to get back to you’re favorite point of view. But Meyer masterfully weaved together the perspectives and fairytales together to have one gripping read no matter who’s story you were reading. Every time I came to a new perspective I remembered how much I loved this character’s story and dove in to find out what happened next.

I’m seriously in post-book depression right now and I was really upset when I realized that Winter wasn’t out yet. I’m counting down the days because I need to know the end of this story. It’s killing me not to have it. *sad face*

Leave a Reply

