The Liars Stole My Heart

In my quest for distraction and good books to read I sought out the best YA books of the year and summer to make my summer reading list. I’m always a little skeptical of these lists however because despite my wide taste in books I found that some just didn’t tickle my fancy and I don’t give them a second glance. I was going to disregard We Were Liars but once I saw it in my second home (Barnes&Noble) it got stuck in my mind and I’m so glad it did.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart was supposedly one of the best books of 2014 and I’m honestly kicking myself for not reading it a year ago. It was sweet, inventive, enchanting, and raw. The story follows Cadence Sinclair as she explains and lives the relationship she has with her two cousins and childhood friend (aka The Liars) on her old-money family’s island. The essence of childhood summers and nostalgia is perfectly captured in each page, each memory Cadence describes. However, she’s haunted by her lost memories of her summer fifteen on the island after she had a mysterious accident locking the memories far out of her reach.

The book is written as if inside the mind of the slightly dramatic, creative mind of Cadence. She often talks about her emotional pain as physical and traumatic, usually described as her bleeding out from wounds equal to the pain she feels. Her journey through discovering the memories plaguing her mind is emotional, painful, and completely consuming.

The true colors of our emotions are often revealed in hindsight, and the beautifully tragic story of Cadence Sinclair is no exception but rather a sharp reminder that time heals and has a way of hiding things until we’re ready to face them.

Leave a Reply

